« Back to News

Congratulations to WGGB Award Winners 2016

Awards Film Theatre TV

A huge congratulations to the Winners of the 2016 WGGB awards, including The Agency’s:

Russel T. Davies for Outstanding contribution to writing

Michael Crompton for Best Short Form TV Drama: CODE OF A KILLER

Timberlake Wertenbaker for Best Play: JEFFERSON’S GARDEN

Paul King for Best Screenplay: PADDINGTON


Acclaimed writer and producer Russell T. Davies was presented the coveted Outstanding Contribution to Writing Award at the annual Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards at RIBA, in London, on 18 January 2016.

WGGB President Olivia Hetreed said of the event: “As President of the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, I am immensely proud of all our Award winners and nominees, a truly impressive display of talent, from the ancient art of playwriting to the youngest one of game writing. All our winners display not only a superb grasp of their craft but tremendous insight and empathy with the challenges of modern life.

“The Writers’ Guild has been supporting writers for over 50 years, in their everyday working lives, in times of crisis and triumph. Writers today face many difficulties, we can meet them more strongly together.”

Full list of WGGB winners

Published: 7th January 2016