Print page

Cynan Jones


Cynan Jones is the author of five novels, published in over 20 countries. He has won the Wales Book of the Year Fiction Prize and the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Award (for The Dig), a Betty Trask Award (for The Long Dry), and the BBC National Short Story Award, for which he is on the 2019 judging panel.

His short stories have appeared in a variety of anthologies and in journals and magazines including Granta and The New Yorker.  He has also written an episode of  the hit crime drama Hinterland, a collection of tales for children, and stories for BBC Radio. His latest work, Stillicide, is a collection of twelve short stories commissioned by Radio 4 and published by Granta in October 2019.

Cynan is the RLF Writing Fellow at Aberystwyth University, and a recently elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.


The Long Dry  2006
Everything I Found on the Beach   2011
Bird, Blood, Snow    2012
The Dig   2014
Stillicide   2019


Stillicide        Upcoming 2019


Hinterland Series III
1 Episode


Represented in association with AM Heath.

Call Simon to discuss Cynan or other Rightss