the-agency-logo (1) 7 (1)

Harry Trevaldwyn signs YA romcom with Macmillan Children’s Books after 8-publisher auction

Macmillan Children’s Books has signed two YA novels from British author, screenwriter, actor and comedian Harry Trevaldwyn – who has already received recognition as a Screen International Star of Tomorrow and praise from British GQ as ‘Instagram’s young prince of comedy’ for his comedy skit videos – in a hotly contested 8-publisher auction.

The first book, THE ROMANTIC TRAGEDIES OF A DRAMA KING, is Harry’s debut novel. Bursting with hilarious misadventures and queer joy, THE ROMANTIC TRAGEDIES OF A DRAMA KING will be devoured by teenagers and adults who enjoy character-led romantic dilemmas in the tradition of Georgia Nicolson, Lottie Brooks and Bridget Jones.

Set against the backdrop of a high school drama production where — of course — the most dramatic events happen off-stage; the story follows loveable Patrick ‘Patch’ Simmons who’s decided that this is the year he gets a boyfriend. Armed with his single mum’s outdated self-help books and an alarming level of self-confidence, Patch embarks on his mission with hilarious results.

With today’s announcement of THE ROMANTIC TRAGEDIES OF A DRAMA KING, Harry says: “I’m beyond excited to be working with the angels at Macmillan on my first novel. I’ve taken all the delightful humiliations and dramas I wish I could have had as a teenager looking for love and given them to someone much braver than I was. I can’t wait for everyone to meet Patch and worry about his terrible (terrible) choices.”

Charlie Castelletti, Editor at Macmillan Children’s Books, says: “Harry Trevaldwyn has that rare, one-of-a-kind comedy voice that cuts across generations old and new, and an exceptional ability to tell a tale that is, essentially, a masterclass in comedy writing. From the very first page we were drawn to Patch’s confidence, his innocence, and his loveable nature. The world could use more joy, and this book delivers that in spades.”

Belinda Ioni Rasmussen, Managing Director of Macmillan Children’s Books, says: “Harry is a unique and witty talent destined to become a star on our bestselling and growing YA list. The Romantic Tragedies of a Drama King is guaranteed to have millions of fans amused and charmed in equal measure and we are very ambitious for its success.”

Publishing Director Emma Jones and Editor Charlie Castelletti bought World English Language rights jointly with Sara Goodman at Wednesday Books, Macmillan US. THE ROMANTIC TRAGEDIES OF A DRAMA KING will publish in Spring 2025 in the UK and the US.

Translation rights are being handled by Clementine Ahearne and Elizabeth Guess at ILA, with multiple deals already struck, and screen rights are with Isaac Storm at United Agents.

The Bookseller’s announcement can be found here.